CHICAGO (AP) — The winners of the 2017 James Beard Foundation restaurant and chef awards announced Monday are:



— Best New Restaurant

Le Coucou in New York

— Outstanding Baker

Mark Furstenberg of Bread Furst in Washington

— Outstanding Bar Program

Arnaud’s French 75 Bar in New Orleans

— Outstanding Chef

Michael Solomonov of Zahav in Philadelphia

— Outstanding Pastry Chef

Ghaya Oliveira of Daniel in New York

— Outstanding Restaurant

Topolobampo in Chicago

— Outstanding Restaurateur

Stephen Starr of Starr Restaurants in Philadelphia

— Outstanding Service

Blue Hill at Stone Barns in Pocantico Hills, New York

— Outstanding Wine Program

Canlis in Seattle

— Outstanding Wine, Beer or Spirits Professiona

Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head Craft Brewery in Milton, Delaware

— Rising Star Chef of the Year

Zachary Engel of Shaya in New Orleans



— 75 Seats and Under

Firm: AvroKO

Designers: Kristina O’Neal, William Harris, Adam Farmerie and Greg Bradshaw

Project: SingleThread, Healdsburg, California

— 76 Seats and Over

Design Firm: Meyer Davis

Designers: Will Meyer, Gray Davis and Katie McPherson

Project: St. Cecilia, Atlanta

—Design Icon

Grand Central Oyster Bar and Restaurant

New York



—Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH)

Sarah Grueneberg of Monteverde in Chicago

—Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (D.C., DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA)

Greg Vernick of Vernick Food and Drink in Philadelphia

—Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI)

Kevin Nashan of Sidney Street Cafe in St. Louis

—Best Chef: New York City (Five Boroughs)

Marco Canora of Hearth

—Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, NY STATE, RI, VT)

Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley of Eventide Oyster Co. in Portland, Maine

—Best Chef: Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY)

Gabrielle Quinonez Denton and Greg Denton of Ox in Portland, Oregon

—Best Chef: South (AL, AR, FL, LA, MS, PR)

Rebecca Wilcomb of Herbsaint in New Orleans

—Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV)

Steven Satterfield of Miller Union in Atlanta

—Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, CO, NM, OK, TX, UT)

Hugo Ortega of Hugo’s in Houston

—Best Chef: West (CA, HI, NV)

Corey Lee of Benu in San Francisco


America’s Classics

—Bertha’s Kitchen, Charleston, S.C.

Owners: Julia Grant, Linda Pinckney and Sharon Coakley

—Gioia’s Deli, St. Louis

Owner: Alex Donley

—La Taqueria, San Francisco

Owner: Miguel Jara

—Sahadi’s, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Owners: Christine Sahadi Whelan and Ron Sahadi

—Schultz’s Crab House, Essex, Md.

Owners: Chrissy Burkman, Stephanie Kell, Jason McKinney, Michelle McKinney, Robert A. McKinney Jr. and Stephan McKinney


Who’s Who of Food & Beverage in America

—Roger Berkowitz

President and CEO, Legal Sea Foods


—Suzanne Goin

Multiple James Beard Award-winning chef and restauranteur

Los Angeles

—Evan Kleiman

Culinarian; Host of KCRW’s “Good Food”

Los Angeles

—Michel Nischan

Multiple James Beard Award-winning chef; Founder, president and CEO of Wholesome Wave

Bridgeport, Conn.

—Rajat Parr

Domaine de la Cote

Lompac, Calif.


Humanitarian of the Year

Denise Cerreta of One World Everybody Eats in Salt Lake City


Lifetime Achievement Award

Nora Pouillon of Restaurant Nora in Washington

blog comments powered by Disqus