The Eureka Police Officer’s Association held its 41st annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, Dec. 7 at the Eagle House in Eureka. Approximately 120 current members as well as retirees and guests were in attendance.

Annual awards were given to the following individuals selected by their peers for exceptional service and dedication over the last year.

Eureka Police Department homeless liaison, Pamlyn Millsap was chosen as the recipient of the Pat Mitchell Award named after former EPD reserve officer Pat Mitchell who died in the line of service while responding to a call in 1974. Millsap was recognized for her ongoing efforts to connect individuals with mental health needs with community services as well as enhancing officers’ understanding of how to work with individuals with mental health struggles.

Property technician Elaine Bradshaw was chosen as the Non Sworn Employee of the Year. Bradshaw was recognized for her remarkable work ethic, selfless actions and assistance training new patrol personnel and assisting in the property booking process.

Officer Ryan McElroy was chosen as the Rookie of the Year. McElroy was hired in 2012 and recognized for his street enforcement efforts including his enthusiasm in learning his new position, commitment to teamwork and arresting over 250 subjects.

Traffic officer Greg Hill was chosen as the Officer of the Year. Hill was recognized for his aggressive traffic enforcement efforts including writing over 900 traffic citations and making over 75 DUI arrests during the calendar year. Hill was also recognized for receiving his eighth certificate from the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) for drunk-driving related arrests.

Additionally, officers Jon Omey and Corrie Watson were recognized for receiving honors from the California Highway Patrol for efforts recovering stolen vehicles and traffic officer Dave Chapman for also receiving an award from MADD. Communications manager Michelle Reyna-Sanchez was recognized as the 2013 Communications Dispatcher of the Year, an honor chosen during by communications center staff during National Telecommunications Week in April.

Several business donated goods and services to a raffle held during the evening. Profits from the raffle are used throughout the year to make donations to community groups and special events. The EPOA would like to thank the following businesses for their generosity; Amiga’s Burritos, Bear River Casino & Hotel, Bella Basket, Benbow Inn, Chapala Café, Coco-Cola Bottling Co., Eagle House Inn, Fin-n-Feather Pet Shop, Fire & Light Originals, Gallagher’s Irish Pub, Harper Motors, Jitter Bean Coffee Co., North Coast Co-Op, Roy’s Club and Vellutini Baking Co.

Mr. Lee Cho, owner of the Eagle House donated the use of their ballroom to the association for the awards banquet for the fourth year in a row. This donation is greatly appreciated and allows more of the funds raised during the evening to be donated to community organizations throughout the year.

The Eureka Police Officer’s Association is the employee group that represents most employees of the Eureka Police Department. No public funds were used to pay for the banquet as members exclusively paid for the event.